And even more from

July 26, 2008

Just giving you some interesting stuff I’ve seen on…

In 1989, Greg LeMond posted the fastest ever time in a race against the clock over 20km at the Tour de France when he won the final stage in the year of France’s bicentenary celebrations. He overtook Laurent Fignon and famously won the title by eight seconds.
In 1990, Greg LeMond overtook Claudio Chiappucci to take the yellow jersey. The stage was won by Erik Breukink and the American won the title without winning a stage.
In 2003, David Millar won the final time trial on a day or torrential rain but the general classification was confirmed when Lance Armstrong finished third and Jan Ullrich – who had been a challenger to the Texan for three weeks – crashed on a roundabout and lost any chance of making up the deficit to the overall leader.
In 2006, Floyd Landis’ took the yellow jersey off the shoulders of Oscar Pereiro on the penultimate day but it was a victory that wouldn’t last… as the American would surrender the title retrospectively after testing positive for testosterone.

In 1968, Jan Janssen became the first Dutchman to win the Tour de France. He claimed the final stage, a time trial from Izier to Paris, and overtook Herman van Springel on the final day to take the title by 38”.
In 1977, Bernard Thevenet confirmed his victory over Hennie Kuiper by winning the last individual test.
In 1978, Joop Zoetemelk was 14 seconds ahead of Bernard Hinault before the final time trial but the rider from Brittany ended up winning the Tour by 3’56”.

According to the early results of our poll on, many believe that this final time trial will determine a new leader of the general classification. In the post-WWII period (ie. races since 1947), the final time trial has contributed to a change of race leader 12 times.
In 1958, Charly Gaul won the final time trial and inherited the lead from Vito Favero in Dijon.
In 1962, Jacques Anquetil won the stage in Lyon and overtook Joseph Planckaert in the general classification.
In 1964, the final stage was a time trial from Versailles to Paris. Anquetil was just 14 seconds ahead Poulidor but his victory on the last day sealed his fifth victory.