And it’s over – YES SPOILER

July 27, 2008

Here’s how the last stage of the Tour went.

Everyone rode together, drank champagne and enjoyed the journey.

Sastre finished seven seconds behind Cadel Evans and 14 seconds behind stage winner Quickstep’s Gert Steegmans.

The top ten in the stage were…

1. Gert Steegmans (BEL) QST
2. Gerald Cioleck (GER) THR
3. Oscar Freire (ESP) RAB
4. Robbie McEwen (AUS) SIL
5. Thor Hushovd (NOR) C.A
6. Julian Dean (NZL) GAR
7. Stefan Schumacher (GER) GST
8. Robert Forster (GER) GST
9. Leonardo Duque (COL) COF
10. Robert Hunter (RSA) BAR

The top ten in the 2008 Tour de France are…

1. Carlos Sastre (ESP) CSC – 3,559.5km in 87h52’52″ (40.490km/h)
2. Cadel Evans (AUS) SIL at 58″
3. Bernhard Kohl (AUT) GST at 1’13″
4. Denis Menchov (RUS) RAB at 2’10″
5. Christian Vande Velde (USA) TSL at 3’05″
6. Frank Schleck (LUX) CSC at 4’28″
7. Samuel Sanchez (ESP) EUS at 6’25″
8. Kim Kirchen (LUX) THR at 6’55″
9. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) GCE at 7’12″
10. Tadej Valjavec (SLO) ALM at 9’05″

The full list will come in a second.