Countries – Riders in the Tour

July 5, 2008

This year, according to the official site of the Tour de France, there are only FOUR Americans riding in the TDF.

Here’s the listing of how the rider numbers break down across country lines…

The 180 riders in the 95th Tour represent 28 countries.

40: France
30: Spain
21: Italy
16: Germany
12: Belgium
10: The Netherlands
9: Australia
4: USA, Russia and Switzerland
3: Colombia, Great Britain and Luxembourg
2: South Africa, Austria, Belarus, Noway, Sweden and Ukraine
1: Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Slovenia