First climb of the day

July 23, 2008

Courtesy of…

The points for the first climb of stage 17 were won by:
1. Stefan Schumacher (GST) 4pts
2. Remy Di Gregorio (FDJ) 3pts
3. Ruben Perez (EUS) 2pts
4. Peter Velits (MRM) 1pt

The peloton seems as if it doesn’t care about the group ahead, and based on the riders’ positions that makes sense. But some teams want to ensure a team title in the 2008 Tour, so I bet CSC will start reeling these breakaway riders back in at some point before the next climb.

All that’s left are hors category mountains culminating with the Alpe d’Huez.