SPOILER – Winner of Stage 13 in Nimes

July 18, 2008

With 10KM to go, the breakaway ended and Terpstra was caught after being on the attack for 172KM.

After the capture, the teams put on a furious pace to the finish line. They were moving along fine when at about 8KM, Sylvain Chavanel attacked and opened a lead of 150 meters. He was caught at the 3KM mark.

Team Columbia then took over the pacemaking for a bit and then QuickStep and Milram came front.

Only one KM away, it’s a morass of wheels and riders and different colored jerseys at the front.

And with so much confusion at the front, and such a fantastic speed, who but Robbie Mc Ewen could blast ahead for the win? I’ll tell you who! Mark Cavendish!

The Englishman has won his FOURTH stage of the 2008 Tour de France.

Here are the top 10 of the 182km stage from Narbonne to Nimes:
1. Mark Cavendish (GBR) COL – 182km in 4h25’42″
2. Robbie McEwen (AUS) SIL
3. Roman Feillu (FRA) AGR
4. Heinrich Haussler (GER) GST
5. Oscar Freire (ESP) RAB
6. Thor Hushovd (NOR) C.A
7. Leonardo Duque (COL) COF
8. Erik Zabel (GER) MRM
9. Julian Dean (NZL) TSL
10. Sebastian Chavanel (FRA) FDJ

According to letour,

Cavendish is making this sprinting game look easy. He was blocked in the middle of the bunch with 500m to go but when he opened it up, there was no one who could get close. Stage win number four for the Columbia rider!

More info in the next post.